NAACLS Selects Next CEO

(Last Updated On: April 14, 2022)

The National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS) Board of Directors has selected Ms. Marisa James as the new CEO of the organization. Ms. James was selected following a national search that produced a number of highly qualified candidates. An experienced clinical laboratory sciences educator, Ms. James will succeed Dr. Dianne Cearlock and assume responsibilities on September 1st, 2022. Dr. Cearlock will be retiring at the end of August 2022, following sixteen years of exemplary leadership of the organization.

Ms. James joined North Kansas City Hospital in 2001, first as a Medical Laboratory Scientist (MLS), before becoming a faculty member at the North Kansas City Hospital School of Medical Laboratory Science. Ms. James currently serves as the Program Director at North Kansas City Hospital. 

“It is an honor to be selected to lead NAACLS, an organization I have long admired. As the laboratory workforce shortage persists in healthcare, we will be seeking opportunities to increase the number of accredited programs in new and innovative ways. I look forward to collaborating with our staff and volunteers as we focus on the future success and growth of NAACLS.” Marisa James, Incoming CEO

Ms. James received her MLS Certificate as Valedictorian from North Kansas City Hospital and her Bachelor of Science in Medical Technology (Cum Laude) from the University of Central Missouri in 2002. In 2005, Ms. James completed her Master of Arts in Higher Education Administration, graduating Summa Cum Laude, from the University of Missouri in Kansas City.

Ms. James is an active member of the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) and the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS). Ms. James has served on the NAACLS Board of Directors, including leading numerous subcommittees for the Board, as well as performing site visits for the organization. In 2014, Ms. James was named as one of the inaugural winners of the ASCP’s Top 40 Under 40 award.

Hit Enter