(Last Updated On: October 15, 2012)

At the September 21, 2012 meeting of the NAACLS Board of Directors, in addition to accreditation and approval awards recommended by the RCAP and PARC, the following items were addressed:

  • Elections for Board officers were held. Continuing as President is Jerry Phipps (AAPA representative). Elected as President-Elect is Fred Rodriguez (ASCP representative). Bill Hunt (ASCLS representative) and Sondra Flemming (2 year institution administrator/public member) were elected Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. Yasmen Simonian (ASCLS representative) continues as Member-at-Large.
  • A process to provide site visitors with individual performance feedback with each accreditation cycle was approved for immediate implementation. This continues a multi-year process initiated by NAACLS to increase meaningful feedback to volunteers for the purpose of continuous quality improvement.
  • New Standards for Approved and Accredited Programs, distributed with a request for public comment in June 2012, were adopted with a number of amendments. Description of the timeline and other details for implementation will be reported in the NAACLS News blog in the Fall 2012 CEO’s Column.  Two task forces have been appointed to develop materials supporting the Standards, such as Guides, with recommended narrative, documentation requirements, and forms. It is anticipated that the Guides to Accreditation and Approval will be available May 2013.
  • The recommendation to not recognize the ASCP(i) credential for program directors was adopted.

Subscriptions to the NAACLS News blog continue to increase in number. Please encourage your colleagues to subscribe. Subscribing to the blog is the best way to keep up with NAACLS news and announcements in a timely manner. Any questions? Contact Mark Spence, at

Hit Enter